Management of IT services

IT service management refers entirety to the activities that are intended for policies, prearranged and controlled in processes and supporting procedures – that are carried out by an association or part of any group to arrange, transport, function and organize IT services  that are offered to consumers. It is thus concerned regarding the accomplishment of quality IT services that meet up the needs of customers, and is performed by the IT service contributor through a suitable blend of people, course and information technology.

It basically differs from other services that are basically technology-oriented IT management advancement which is like network organization and IT systems administration, IT service organization is distinguished by following techniques:

  • By adopting a course of action towards administration
  • By focusing on customer needs and IT sector
  • By providing services for customers rather than IT systems
  • By stressing frequent development

Relationships between the IT sector management frameworks and other management principles vary.  As a regulation or order, ITSM has many ties and common benefits with different IT and general management approaches that includes quality management, information security management and software engineering. As a consequence, IT service management frameworks have been influenced by other principles and many adopted principles and ideas from them.

IT service organization is frequently associated with the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL), even if there are a diversity of standards and frameworks that are contributing to the general ITSM regulation. ITIL was started off as an official publication of United Kingdom government agencies.

The current description of the ITIL structure is the 2011 publication. The 2011 edition, which was available in July 2011, is an amendment of the earlier version which was recognized as ITIL version 3 that was published few years back. ITIL version 3 was a chief improvement from version 2 while version 2 was process-oriented that was divided into two groups as service support and service delivery, version 3 is service-oriented. Ever since the time of ITIL V3, a variety of ITIL processes are categorized into five stages of the service lifecycle which was service strategy, service design, service transition, service operation and continual service improvement.

Tools that are used for ITSM

Implementation of ITSM processes in a group, particularly those processes that are extra workflow-driven ones, can advantage considerably from being supported with particular software tools. ITSM tools are regularly marketed as ITSM suites, which hold up not one, but an entire set of ITSM procedures. At their center is typically a workflow organization system for management of incidents, service requirements, problems and changes. They typically also comprise of an instrument for a configuration organization database. ITSM tools are also frequently referred as ITIL tools. Above 100 tools are self-proclaimed ITSM or ITIL tools. Software vendors, whose ITSM tools accomplish definite practical necessities to hold up a position of ITIL processes, can get hold of official endorsement, that allows them to use trademarks and an ITIL process compliant logo, under ITIL Software Endorsement system.